"The Southwood prize has brought a broader, more international, visibility to my research."

Kulbhushansingh Suryawanshi Southwood Prize Winner 2013

Marsh Book of the Year Award

The Marsh Book of the Year Award

Books can have a major impact in ecology but academic publishing of books brings relatively little financial reward to authors. This award aims to recognise the contribution authors make to the science of ecology.

The Marsh Book of the Year Award acknowledges the important role that books have in ecology and its development. This prize is funded by the Marsh Christian Trust.  It is awarded to the book published in the last two years that has had the greatest influence on the science of ecology or its application. The prize is an honorarium of £1,000 plus a certificate and is open to books published anywhere in the world. The BES normally considers the Marsh Book of the Year Award on an annual basis.

Council welcomes suggestions for the Marsh Book of the Year Award. Nominations must be made using the nomination form, received by the extended deadline 17:00 (BST), Monday 4 April 2016 and emailed to us.

The nomination form should contain a brief statement on why the book deserves the award and nominators must be a current member of the BES.

Publishers cannot submit nominations for this award.

The winners to date are:

(A-Z by surname)

Michael Angilleta for his book “Thermal Adaptation: A Theoretical and Empirical Synthesis'” (2010)

Richard Bardgett for his book “The Biology of Soils – A Community and Ecosystem Approach” (2006)

David Briggs for his book “Plant Microevolution and Conservation in Human-Influenced Ecosystems” (2011)

Roger L. H. Dennis for his book “A Resource-Based Habitat View For Conservation: Butterflies in the British Landscape” (2012)

Beverley Glover for her book “Understanding Flowers and Flowering” (2009)

Nigel Holmes & Paul Raven for their book “Rivers” (2014)

Brian Moss for his book “Liberation ecology: the reconciliation of natural and human cultures” (2013)

Ian Newton for his book ‘Bird Populations’ (2014)

Peter M. Vitousek for his book “Nutrient Cycling and Limitation: Hawai’i as a Model System” (2005)

David Wilkinson for his book “Fundamental Processes in Ecology: An Earth System Approach” (2007)

Comments are closed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.