Hannah Mumby – Thu 6 May

This free online talk considers how we include human interactions into ecological research and will be broadcast on Zoom as part of Ecology Live 2021. It takes place at the earlier time of 09:00 UK time.

Hannah Mumby

Thursday 6 May

09:00 UK time / 16:00 in Beijing / 18:00 in Sydney

Hannah Mumby

University of Hong Kong

Wild boar in the city: Incorporating human attitudes and behaviour in an ecological study

Wild boar (Sus scrofa) have a wide native and non-native range, a highly generalised diet and long history of interaction with humans. As such, studying the ecology of wild boar often touches on human dimensions of and interactions with environment, such as land-use, environmental policy and activities like hunting or feeding.

In this talk, I present a case study of human and wild boar interactions in Hong Kong. Through it, I introduce a critical reflection of stakeholder inclusion in ecological studies, findings from our analyses of media discourse on human and wild boar interactions in Chinese-language and English-language media and integrating human dimensions with ecological data, including wild boar behaviour and diet.

Register for free up to 24 hours before Hannah’s talk to receive the login details. Register once to join any of the Ecology Live 2021 talks.

Register now for Ecology Live

To register for Ecology Live, you will need to create an account with your details. See our Privacy Policy for how we use this information. The talks are broadcast live on the Zoom platform, which has its own privacy policy and terms and conditions.

Sponsored by Oxford University Press

Oxford University Press logo

Oxford University Press are sponsoring this series of Ecology Live.
Access their reading list for the twelve talks here, and enjoy an exclusive 30% discount by entering promo code ASPROMP8 at checkout.

◀ Back to Ecology Live 2021