Conservation Ecology

Creating opportunities for knowledge development and exchange within the conservation community.


Chair: Lydia Cole
Deputy Chair & Communication Officer: Amy Fensome
Social media: Twitter and Facebook


The Conservation Ecology group provides a platform for facilitating exchange between theoretical ecologists, applied ecologists and practitioners interested in conservation issues. This Special Interest Group (SIG) is open to all BES members and non-members with an interest in conservation. We also welcome conservation organisations, and aim to build links that will help to direct research towards answering useful conservation questions, in parallel with making research findings available to practitioners.

Join the mailing list

The group has a JISC mailing list used to provide regular updates about its latest news and activities. Please get in touch with Lydia to find out how to join and get involved in the group!


  • Hold collaborative meetings and workshops to highlight emerging challenges and/or conceptual and methodological advances relevant to conservation.
  • Facilitate the production of syntheses relevant to conservation and policy whilst supporting the BES journals to communicate practical messages to the widest audience possible.
  • Encourage and support early career researchers as a growing network of people interested in conservation science.

Meetings and events

Check out the events page for all our upcoming meetings! Or sign up to our mailing list for monthly updates.

Studying conservation ecology in the UK and EU

Interested in pursuing a Masters programme in Conservation? Have a look at some of the courses available in the UK and EU. Please be aware that the lists provided are non-exhaustive; if you do spot a missing programme in one of these lists, do send an email to the Conservation SIG Chair so that we can add it on.

Committee Members

• Chair: Lydia Cole
• Deputy Chair and Communication Officer: Amy Fensome
• Policy Reps: Kate Findlay and Martina di Fonzo
• Student Reps: Katie Bickerton, Holly English, Sally Hawkins and Kasia Mikoljczak
• Early Career Researcher Reps: Katherine Baldock and Andrew Suggitt