Marsh Book of the Year Award

This award aims to recognise the contribution authors make to ecology.

Books can have a major impact in ecology, but academic book publishing brings relatively little financial reward to authors.

The Marsh Book of the Year Award acknowledges the important role that books have on ecology and its development. This prize is funded by the Marsh Christian Trust and is awarded to the book published in the last two years that has had the greatest influence on ecology or its application.

The prize is an honorarium of £1,000 and is open to books published anywhere in the world. We usually consider the Marsh Book of the Year Award on an annual basis.

Applications for this award have now CLOSED as the deadline was on Monday 3 April 2017.

Unfortunately, publishers cannot submit nominations for this award.

Winners to date are:

(A-Z by surname)

Michael Angilleta: Thermal Adaptation: A Theoretical and Empirical Synthesis (2010)

Richard Bardgett: The Biology of Soils – A Community and Ecosystem Approach (2006)

Jordi Bascompti & Pedro Jordano: Mutualistic Networks (2014)

David Briggs: Plant Microevolution and Conservation in Human-Influenced Ecosystems (2011)

Tim Clutton-Brock: Mammal Societies (2016)

Roger L. H. Dennis: A Resource-Based Habitat View for Conservation: Butterflies in the British Landscape (2012)

Beverley Glover: Understanding Flowers and Flowering (2009)

Nigel Holmes and Paul Raven: Rivers (2014)

Brian Moss: Liberation ecology: the reconciliation of natural and human cultures (2013)

Ian Newton: Bird Populations (2014)

Peter M. Vitousek: Nutrient Cycling and Limitation: Hawai’i as a Model System (2005)

David Wilkinson: Fundamental Processes in Ecology: An Earth System Approach (2007)