BES Award

Our BES Award is made in recognition of exceptional service to the Society.

Learned Societies such as the BES are a vital part of the academic community; fostering careers, providing support, creating opportunities and advocating for their discipline. We would not be able to do this without the tireless efforts of volunteers within the community but often this support is overlooked and undervalued.  This Award seeks to highlight the vital contribution that many make to our ecological community.

The Nominations Committee will consider the following criteria when considering nominations:

  • The roles and responsibilities that the nominee has undertaken for the BES in an unpaid capacity;
  • The significance of contribution by the nominee towards the work of the BES;
  • The commitment that the nominee has given to the BES.

The nomination process for this award is closed for 2018. The next round of award nominations opens in early 2019.

Previous recipients of this award include:
(A-Z by surname)

Valerie Brown
Malcolm Cherrett
Anthony Davy
John Grace
Alan Gray
Peter J Grubb
Sue Hartley
Mike Hassell
Libby John
Hefin Jones
Keith James Kirby
John Lee
Emma Sayer
David Slingsby
Peter Thomas
Bryan Turner
Philip Warren
John Whittaker
Arthur Willis