BES Member Wins Prestigious L’Oreal-UNESCO Award for Women in Science

Dr Nathalie Pettorelli, a postdoctoral researcher at the Institute of Zoology, a member of the BES and Associate Editor of the Journal of Applied Ecology – is one of this year’s four winners of the L’Oreal-UNESCO UK and Ireland For Women in Science Fellowship awards. Dr Pettorelli won the award in recognition of her research into the effectiveness of terrestrial protected areas in conserving the world’s major ecosystems.

The Fellowships have been designed to provide practical help for the winners to undertake research in their chosen fields. In total, over 900 women in 90 countries have been recognized for their research and received funding to further their studies. Past awardees include Professor Ada Yonath and Professor Elizabeth Blackburn who recieved Nobel Prizes in 2009 for their work in Chemistry and Medicine respectively.

Professor Dame Athene Donald, FRS, 2009 For Women in Science Laureate for Europe, who was recently made a Dame for her services to Physics, commented: “It is vitally important for aspiring scientists to have visible role models in science…I strongly believe that acknowledging and highlighting the pioneering work of female scientists will help encourage more and more women into science, which is why programmes like the L’Oreal-UNESCO For Women in Science awards that celebrate inspirational women in science, are so important.”

Julie McManus, Head of Scientific and Technical-Regulatory Affairs, L’Oréal UK and Ireland and 2010 jury member continues: “With the For Women in Science programme we hope to draw attention to the excellent work being undertaken by female scientists across the UK and Ireland, while also providing the financial support necessary to support women’s careers in science. Past recipients of the awards have gone on to make important scientific discoveries and win Nobel Prizes; we hope that seeing the success of these truly inspirational women will provide motivation for the next generation of UK’s female scientists.”