MPs Vote to Reinstate House of Commons Science and Technology Committee

MPs have voted (25 June) to reinstate the House of Commons Science and Technology Committee, in a welcome development for the scrutiny of the use of science by Government. The previous Science and Technology Committee was disbanded and became the Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee upon the formation of DIUS two years ago. Upon the break-up of DIUS in June this year, the future of the Committee seemed uncertain. Representations by the Campaign for Science and Engineering and Learned Societies had a role to play in the decision to reinstate this committee, under its original Chair, Phil Willis MP, from 1 October 2009.

Read Press Release from Committee