New Chair of Science Advisory Council Announced

The new Chair of DEFRA’s Science Advisory Council has been announced as Professor Chris Gaskell. Professor Gaskell is Principal of the Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester.

The Science Advisory Council was formed in 2004 to provide DEFRA with expert independent advice on science policy and strategy. The Council reports to DEFRA’s Chief Scientific Advisor, Professor Bob Watson, who then communicates this information to Ministers.