Science and Technology Select Committee to be re-formed

It has been confirmed today that the Science and Technology (S&T) Select Committee will be re-formed under the new parliament.

The membership of the committee has yet to be decided, but a vote by MPs today confirmed that the Chair will be selected from the Labour party, with Mark Henderson of The Times placing Graham Stringer, the only surviving member of the previous S&T committee, as the current front-runner for the post.

The committee’s remit is likely to remain specific, mainly scrutinising the work of the Government Office for Science, but the Former Deputy Leader of the House, Barbara Keeley MP, had formerly expressed the hope that the committee would examine the full scope of science policy and related matters across the Government.

Original article: Science & Technology Select Committee returns by Imran Khan