New trustees elected to our Board

Thorunn Helgason and Rick Stafford join our Board of Trustees, following the results of an online ballot of members.

Members have voted over several weeks to elect members of our Board of Trustees in an online ballot. This is the second year we have run an online vote, giving BES members everywhere a voice in appointing trustees to direct the future course of the Society.

Over 1,200 votes were cast, appointing candidates to five positions on the Board. At our Annual Meeting in Belfast, delegates were able to attend and hear the results at the 39th AGM of the Society.

Thorunn Helgason was elected in the contest between five candidates to become a new ordinary member of the Board, while Rick Stafford will be our new Policy Committee Chair. In addition, Tom Ezard was re-elected as Honorary Treasurer; Pete Manning was confirmed as Events Committee Chair; and Jane Hill continues as Chair of our Publications Committee. Congratulations to all!

Trustees are the people who share ultimate responsibility for governing the British Ecological Society and directing how it is managed and run.  They ensure that members’ views shape the direction of the Society and that the breadth of the ecological community is represented.

At the AGM, members also received our new Strategic Plan, which sets out our vision, mission and aims for the next four years. Read more about it here.